Interview - Make The Girl Dance

Interview – Make The Girl Dance (Track by Track – Extraball)

"Entrevistas, Zona DJs", por: - 4 mayo, 2015


Make The Girl Dance, the french duo formed by Greg Kozo & Pierre Mathieu, have released today their second LP called «Extraball». Due to this release through Roy Music, we wanted to do them an interview, but a bit different fromwhat we are used to read in our Zona Djs. It’s about a Track by Track where they tell us something about each track of the album.

Tracks like “Kill Me”, “Tchiki Tchiki” or “Baby Baby Baby” have reached more than 40 millions views in YouTube. Moreover, their music have been selected by international brands like Microsoft, Victoria Secret, Magnum or Nivea, by TV series like “Gossip Girl” or “Castle”, and films (“Lucy” is the latest).

So, with this little biography we have proved that Make The Girl Dance is a very important part in music scene.

You can buy the album here.

Track by Track – Extraball

1 – Candy Store

It’s one of the pop song we are the most proud of. But one we had to work on the most. We first give the instrumental to a friend in LA, Yard of Blondes. We made some good vocals. But we gave it at the same time at Ornette with who we worked on another track. And she decided to mix the 2 voices. That ends in a duet with people who never met.

2 – Mad Clap

At the begining we wanted to make a track all about claps and percussions. Then we mixed that with another electronic baseline we made for another track. At the end, Joeystarr, one of the biggest french name in hip hop was in the studio to record on another track and he decided to try on that one too. It was so powerfull that we kept this recording session.

3 –  Yéyé

In the first album we had a weird track, rockabilly, named « Tchiki Tchiki ». We wanted to have another strange influenced track on that one. We worked on a sample of a 60’s french movie, with a very dancing bass on the sound track. Then we asked Ornette if she was interested in doing something with that. She was inspired and delivered italo-english lyrics super shinny. It’s was suddenly an obvious first single.

4 – Woo ooh

We started to write a basic techno baseline. Only working with big filters fx. It was supposed to be instrumental. But in LA we met Gavin Turek. She liked the track and asked if she could try some vocals. What she sent was surprising and super classy. We love that track.

5 – Fayirytales

In LA some friend lend us a Fender bass that belonged 30 years ago to the mythic band Eurythmics. Greg start to play some rock bass lines and that how this track was born. Then we asked Victoria, a friend of us, that play drums and sings in a rock band to sing on it..

6 – Voodoo

At the very end of the creative process, in a morning, Greg decided to sample some voodoo music. In one day he produced the track. Super inspired. Then we asked Joeystarr, our hip hop friend to yale along the track.

7 – Your Spring

One of the track we intirely produced in LA. Just based on a fender rhodes arpeggios, we’ve started to sing some vocal ideas on it. Even if we’re not used to it, we wrote some simple lyrics. We asked Marion Corral to perform it with her mellow flawless voice.

8 – Explosive

One of the other fat electronic track of the album. Produced for the dance floors. We like to imagine people getting high and dancing on that track stucked in front of a large speaker.

9 – Something or Anything

It’s a song very inspired by our stay in Los Angeles. One pop song you can listen to driving a convertible car by Malibu. It smells summer and panties.

10 – Dancing In Nowhere

The only track that wasn’t wriitten at the same time. It’s a track that have been produced some month before. A single with vocals of our Swiss friend Solange la Frange.

11 – Girlz part 2

After the 1st album, we produced a single : Girlz. We didn’t wanted to put it in the album as it was but wanted to propose a new version. A rework of it. Not because it wasn’t good enough but just to offer a new lecture of it.

Make The Girl Dance - Extraball
Make The Girl Dance – Extraball

Read it in Spanish here.

Salir Comentario (1)

Deja un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

Warning: file_put_contents(/homepages/6/d649244799/htdocs/clickandbuilds/xfadering/wp-content/cache/quick-cache/cache/http/xfadering-com/interview-make-the-girl-dance.html-5e86bc376b0a6188570347-tmp): failed to open stream: Disk quota exceeded in /homepages/6/d649244799/htdocs/clickandbuilds/xfadering/wp-content/advanced-cache.php on line 1321

Fatal error: Uncaught Exception: Quick Cache: failed to write cache file for: `/interview-make-the-girl-dance/`; possible permissions issue (or race condition), please check your cache directory: `/homepages/6/d649244799/htdocs/clickandbuilds/xfadering/wp-content/cache/quick-cache/cache`. in /homepages/6/d649244799/htdocs/clickandbuilds/xfadering/wp-content/advanced-cache.php:1325 Stack trace: #0 [internal function]: quick_cache\advanced_cache->output_buffer_callback_handler('<!DOCTYPE html>...', 9) #1 /homepages/6/d649244799/htdocs/clickandbuilds/xfadering/wp-includes/functions.php(3813): ob_end_flush() #2 /homepages/6/d649244799/htdocs/clickandbuilds/xfadering/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php(286): wp_ob_end_flush_all('') #3 /homepages/6/d649244799/htdocs/clickandbuilds/xfadering/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php(310): WP_Hook->apply_filters('', Array) #4 /homepages/6/d649244799/htdocs/clickandbuilds/xfadering/wp-includes/plugin.php(453): WP_Hook->do_action(Array) #5 /homepages/6/d649244799/htdocs/clickandbuilds/xfadering/wp-i in /homepages/6/d649244799/htdocs/clickandbuilds/xfadering/wp-content/advanced-cache.php on line 1325